2017 Cox Plate Field, Barriers & Odds

Cox Plate Betting

As one of Australia’s most anticipated and prestigious thoroughbred races, the running of the nation’s premier weight-for-age race, the Cox Plate, is highly anticipated by punters and racing aficionados every year. This year, the excitement all comes to a head on Saturday, October 28 2017, and you can follow the news leading up to the 2017 Cox Plate by visiting HorseRacing.com.au

The Cox Plate betting market is the largest in Australian horse racing, with thousands of punters places bets at online betting sites, including Ladbrokes.com.au and bookmaker.com.au. It makes sense that the race is so popular, as the Cox Plate is the second richest horse race in Australia, with lucrative prize money of over $3 million on offer – the only race with a larger purse is the Melbourne Cup. Because of this, and because of the quality and degree of difficulty of the 2040 metre race, the Cox Plate field draws an elite selection of champion runners from all over the world every year. The Cox Plate’s quality of runners, generous betting pools, international interest and Group One status all work together to ensure that punters at betting sites have plenty of interest in Cox Plate betting.Cox Plate Betting

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

Ante-post Cox Plate Betting

Betting markets open up for the Cox Plate around early August at sites like Ladbrokes.com.au, once the first nominations for the race are in. Even though the race isn’t held until months later, many punters are keen to jump on board early and take advantage of the generous Cox Plate odds and good value wagers available for those who are willing to take the risk of early Cox Plate betting. There are no guarantees for ante-post betting, and a number of punters choose to wait until closer to the race once the final field and handicap weights have been announced, which can have a huge impact on the odds available.

Besides Cox Plate betting, there are a number of other races held on the day that are definitely worth a punt. For the most fun and enjoyment on Cox Plate Day, don’t rest all your hopes on one of the most tightly contested races in the country.

Cox Plate Winners

Below is a list of the Cox Plate winners and placegetters for the last ten years. You can use this information to see who the dominating horses have been, and then make an informed wager at Ladbrokes.com.au.

Once the Cox Plate is run, you may find yourself looking for more high stakes betting opportunities. Why not try your luck on the prestigious Melbourne Cup? There are odds galore available for Australia’s biggest race, and the Melbourne Cup is shaping up to be one of the biggest. Place your bets online because you won’t find better odds anywhere else. Plus, online betting sites allows members to bet from anywhere as long as they have a computer and an Internet connection, meaning that you can place your horse racing bets no matter what.

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2017 Winx Humidor Folkswood 2:02.94 (Track Record)
2016 Winx Hugh Bowman Chris Waller 2.02.98
2015 Winx Hugh Bowman Chris Waller 2.02.98
2014 Adelaide Ryan Moore A. O’Brien 2.03.76
2013 Shamus Award Chad Schofield Danny O’Brien 2.05.27
2012 Ocean Park Glen Boss Gary Hennessy 2.04.14
2011 Pinker Pinker Craig Williams Greg Eurell 2.05.39
2010 So You Think Steven Arnold J B Cummings 2.07.45
2009 So You Think Glen Boss J B Cummings 2.03.90
2008 Maldivian Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 2.06.90
2007 El Segundo Luke Nolan Colin Little 2.06.33
2006 Fields Of Omagh Craig Williams David A. Hayes 2.06.89
2005 Makybe Diva Glen Boss Lee Freedman 2.09.27
2004 Savabeel Chris Munce Graeme Rogerson 2.06.88
2003 Fields Of Omagh Steven King Tony McEvoy 2.07.61
2002 Northerly Patrick Payne Fred Kersley 2.06.27
2001 Northerly Damien Oliver Fred Kersley 2.05.84
2000 Sunline Greg Childs Trevor McKee 2.07.70
1999 Sunline Greg Childs Trevor McKee 2.05.40

Looking for more information about the Cox Plate? Check out CoxPlateCarnival.com.au for comprehensive coverage of the biggest days of racing in Australia.

Cox Plate Betting News

Ten of the Spring Carnival’s standout racehorses have been confirmed in the field for Saturday’s 2016 Cox Plate (2040m) at Moonee Valley Racecourse; offering punters exceptional value from a betting standpoint and several key opportunities to place a winning wager. Winx opened in final Cox Plate betting markets as a…